Welcome to Springfield
Springfield Commonwealth Academy (SCA) was founded in 1885 on a historical campus that first served as an all-girls school in 1890. After re-opening its doors in 2012, SCA has served as a distinguished, independent college preparatory boarding and day school for students in grades 9-12 and postgraduates. Our urban setting, diverse community, and college preparatory curriculum provides students with a quality private school education.
Explore our School
Located in Springfield Massachusetts, SCA's 20-acre campus in the historic Ames Hill district is home to a small group of scholars who live, learn and excel together. Small classroom sizes and a low student-teacher ratio allows us to provide a very personal and safe learning experience for each individual student.
The faculty and staff do more than just teach; they are also mentors and friends. Outside of class, your favorite teacher or school leader can be found coaching sports or running student-centered clubs, and some even serving as dorm parents.
Boarding students at SCA live in renovated English and Spanish style mansions which were once home to Springfield's wealthiest residents who were industry leaders of their time.
The Springfield Commonwealth Academy community is full of talented, intelligent and highly-driven individuals. We are continuously growing as more of the world's brightest students and teachers join our school family.
Memberships and Accreditations
Springfield Commonwealth Academy is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC).
SCA also holds membership with the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), the National Honors Society (NHS), and the New England Preparatory School Athletic Council (NEPSAC).
History of Springfield
John and Abigail MacDuffie purchased Miss Howard’s School on Union Street in Springfield, Massachusetts. This property included the home of Samuel Bowles, which was transformed into a classroom building know as the Main House.
The school property was then transformed and renamed The MacDuffie School, an all-girls college preparatory school.
At the beginning of World War II, the MacDuffie School was sold to Ralph and Cleminette Rutenber. Rutenber Hall (the school's main classroom and library facility) and Downing Gymnasium (athletic facility) were constructed.
Under the Rutenber's leadership, the school enjoyed its large enrollments in the 1960's and 1970's, reaching 360 boarding and day students from all over the U.S. and abroad.
The MacDuffie property was purchased and then moved from the Springfield location to Granby, Massachusetts.
Five days before graduation in the MacDuffie School's final year in Springfield, the school's campus was devastated by a rare EF3 tornado, causing more than $10 million in damage to the campus. Although there were no injuries, the campus was severely damaged with most of its trees uprooted as well as damage to buildings.
Following a year of clean-up after the tornado devastated its campus, Springfield Commonwealth Academy finally opened its doors.